Painting: Deployment


It!  Is!  DONE!!!  Yay!!

Deployment, acrylic on 11" x 14" canvasboard

Deployment. Acrylic on 11" x 14" canvasboard

Seems like this has been ‘in progress’ for a very long time, but when I look I see it’s only been two months.  Started this in November.  It’s been a long two months I guess.

Unlike usually, this time I have a very definite idea of what this is.  But I’m really a lot more interested in hearing your unbiased impressions and interpretations.  So, tell me, what is this?  🙂

Like many of my other paintings I suspect, this seems to work equally well at other angles:

Deployment.  Acrylic on 11" x 14" canvasboard, rotated 90º

Deployment. Acrylic on 11" x 14" canvasboard, rotated 90º

Deployment.  Acrylic on 11" x 14" canvasboard, rotated 180º

Deployment. Acrylic on 11" x 14" canvasboard, rotated 180º

Deployment.  Acrylic on 11" x 14" canvasboard, rotated 270º

Deployment. Acrylic on 11" x 14" canvasboard, rotated 270º

I’m thinking of framing this one.  All the frustration I had framing the Fairy gave me an idea for a new approach to framing that I want try.  Also this is painted on a canvasboard, and they’re challenging to hang up without a frame…

As always, comments and especially interpretations are more than welcome!  It was Marcel Duchamp who said, “The creative act is not performed by the artist alone; the spectator brings the work in contact with the external world by deciphering and interpreting its inner qualifications and thus adds his contribution to the creative act.”  Your decipherments and interpretations fuel my own creative process.  So please do not hesitate to tell me what this looks like to you, what it may mean to you, or anything else that comes to mind.  All opinions are completely valid, are they not?  🙂

14 Comments

Filed under Paintings

14 responses to “Painting: Deployment

  1. Jim

    It works at any angle, but I like it rotated 270 degress best because my eye more naturally follows the lines.

  2. Wow, wow, wow. I love how you’ve done this. So different from when I first saw it. This is so dynamic now and wonderful. I like all the positions really. The first one the least though. But still, I think they all look great and just by turning them they all look different too. Great work!

    • Thank you! Yeah, it was far from what I had in mind as “done” then… Interesting that the first orientation appeals to you the least. When I decide which way is “up” for one of my paintings this abstract, I realize that this is just because I’ve gotten used to seeing it that way as I’ve worked on it… Just repetition, like they use in advertising. Which is kind of why I asked which way you think it looks best, 🙂 I’ve become biased from the time I’ve spent with it the way it sat on the easel.

      “Dynamic and wonderful” is high praise! Thank you so much!

  3. Interesting at any angle and visually attractive.

  4. When rotated 90, it appears happy to be finished, and is crying tears of joy 🙂

  5. very cool!! it speaks atari to me 🙂
    yea

  6. TLS

    This is my favourite painting of yours I think.

    • Thanks! Glad you like it! 🙂 Geometric can be fun to design, but then it can get to be a real drag to paint… This one sure did. So I’m really glad you like it!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

