Project for the New Year: The Cosmic Calendar

You may remember Cosmos, the 1980 PBS series by Carl Sagan.  If you’re like me you don’t just remember it, but loved the series so much you bought the remastered DVD box set as a Christmas present for yourself last year!  You may also recall Sagan’s “Cosmic Calendar” from the series, where in order to put the immensely vast history of the universe into a comprehensible scale, he mapped it onto a calendar year.  In other words, if the entire history of the universe were one year, with the big bang in the first second of midnight on January first, and the present day in the last second of December 31st, New Year’s Eve.  I’ve started watching it again recently and decided it would be cool to note the major events in the Cosmic Calendar, on the real calendar — even better, in blog form!  (In fact I may even write all the posts for this over the next several days and schedule them for the appropriate points over the coming year, just to see if WordPress’ scheduler can handle that.  But then, that’s the sort of thing I do — my “day job” is testing software.  At least until my paintings start bringing down Van Gogh-like prices.  Of course I’d need to actually try to sell a few first…  But I digress.)

So here is the first post in my Cosmic Calendar series!

January 1, at midnight, just as the ball reaches the ground and everyone screams Happy New Year!:  The Big Bang.  Our universe springs into being.  At this point the entire universe is made of subatomic particles.  There are no atoms yet, and there will not be for thousands of years (real years).

So don’t hold your breath for the next post in this series — it will not be until May.  Five ‘cosmic months’ will elapse before our galaxy, the Milky Way, even forms.  And that’s just our galaxy.  We won’t even have a planet to stand on until September.  Kinda mind blowing, eh?

Happy New Year!

10 Comments

Filed under Cosmic Calendar

10 responses to “Project for the New Year: The Cosmic Calendar

  1. A very interesting idea, I look forward for the next few months. It will be mostly interesting to see how you will cover the end of the year. 🙂

  2. Jim

    Now I’m curious about whether WP’s post-queueing feature will work for items posted far in the future. Unfortunately, I’m unlikely to test it, as I generally need every post I write to go out within the next couple weeks!

    • You’re doing better than I am then. So far I’ve only scheduled for a few hours later… I’d love to have posts ready and waiting to go for a few weeks into the future! Even if I do get these written and scheduled soon, it’s not going to help me until late in the year…

  3. Carl Sagan is my hero. 🙂 great post! 🙂

  4. Ah yes, absolutely brilliant. Funny, I saw this last night at 12 and thought… wow! Well conceived as always! We need to do lunch this week, as indicated in your email from a week ago.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

