Painting: Spectrum

I’m back!

Spectrum, acrylic and latex caulk on 11" x 14" canvas, January 20, 2013

Spectrum, acrylic and latex caulk on 11″ x 14″ canvas, January 20, 2013

Spectrum!  Because I am not going to call it ‘rainbow’, grunt, snort, wow that spot on the floor is interesting.  But enough feigning of manly insecurities, the deal with this painting is not so much the spectrum as that it’s my first experiment with using latex caulk as an art media.  It does give it some texture…  This picture with the harsher lighting shows better the blobs of caulk that I painted over.

Spectrum, acrylic and latex caulk on 11" x 14" canvas, January 20, 2013

Spectrum, acrylic and latex caulk on 11″ x 14″ canvas, January 20, 2013

One note on spectrums though — it strikes me as fascinating and unfathomable that the only real difference between colors is frequency and wavelength.  Same difference between the frequencies we see and those we don’t.  Makes you wonder if some kind of neurological manipulation could allow us to further subdivide the visual spectrum and experience more colors.  Colors we cannot even imagine now.  Or going the other direction…  after the singularity I just want gamma-ray eyes, is all I’m sayin’…

On a housekeeping note, I’m changing how I write this blog.  You may have noticed, I’m not going to slavishly post twice a week anymore.  That led to lame posts between paintings I think, and more importantly it was starting to turn blogging, and worse, painting into work.  Not work in the sense of something I get paid to do, but in the sense of house work and yard work — something I’d just rather not do at all.  We don’t want that to happen to painting and blogging do we??  No Zorgs, we don’t!!

One of the best pieces of advice my dad gave me was that the best way to ruin a good hobby is to turn it into work.  And wouldn’t ya know it, that’s exactly what I was doing.  That Cosmic Calendar stuff…  it was a really cool idea when I decided to do it, but wow it got to be a drag in the last days of December.  The irony of this change is not lost on me — I first decided to stick to a biweekly schedule because I wanted the pressure of needing to finish paintings so I’d have something to blog about twice a week, and get more paintings done that way.  But I just don’t think I need that motivator anymore.  Quite the opposite, too much blogging was threatening to kill the blog and the paintings.  Before last weekend I hadn’t painted in about a month.  Just didn’t feel like it.  Tried painting anyway, but just wasn’t having any fun.  I gave up that day after I broke my palette knife.

Until last weekend when suddenly I had five new paintings going all at once!  🙂  This is the first of those.  So now it’s going to be a normal blog and I’ll post when I want to.  Hopefully this will lead to better posts when I do.

18 Comments

Filed under Paintings

18 responses to “Painting: Spectrum

  1. Jim

    Yeah, even though I post on a schedule, I write when the words come. Sometimes my posts are queued up five, six, seven weeks in advance. When I force myself to write, it doesn’t work very well.

    • It’s been difficult to build up a queue of finished paintings like that. I don’t think I ever had more than two finished and waiting. Never enough time when I have inspiration and no inspiration when I have more time. 🙂 It’s a good approach, but I think it fits writing better.

      • Jim

        Well, the underlying point was that as much as I write when the words come, you should paint when the ideas come.

        • Yeah, I got that. 🙂 And I try to do that. There’s just never enough time. I end up with half finished paintings I’ve lost interest in, some ideas just written down, and a few that do get finished.

  2. Very very glad you’re colorfully back, Charlie!!!!!
    I love your spectrum, your whirly rainbow!
    I wish you happy creations!
    🙂

  3. Dani

    Magnificent! I see not a rainbow nor a spectrum, I see Air, Water, Earth and Fire. And fish swimming upstream.

  4. What a beauty! Such a rich, bright and colorful painting. It’s outstanding, Zorgor! I am glad to hear you’re breaking free of the weight your blog has put on you. I will thoroughly enjoy coming to visit your great blog when you post, and I hope your painting passion comes back to you now that you’ll hopefully be able to enjoy it more again. After all, art should always be fun!

    • The traps you set for yourself are… sneaky. Glad I found this one before it killed another blog. 🙂

      You’re absolutely right — it should be fun. That is why I do it after all. Glad you like this one!

  5. Colour, texture, movement and patterning – excellent painting!
    I enjoyed your synopsis on colour and frequencies. I believe that frequencies are ramping up these days and we have the ability to see more colour. I seem to be getting closer to painting what I see in meditation, which is some pretty freaky colours. I am glad I am not alone in my thinking..

    • They say you can experience strange things while sitting, both wondrous and terrifying. Hope you don’t get any of the terrifying ones! I find it very interesting and very cool that you’re painting what you see while meditating! I just have a lot of monkey-mind lately. 🙂

      On frequencies and wavelengths,

      • Oops posted too soon! On frequencies and wavelengths, looking at that infographic from Wikipedia I posted up there, I noticed that the size example of the wavelength we can see is protozoa — the smallest things we can see. The definition of microscopic. It makes me wonder if we cannot see microscopic things because they’re smaller than the wavelengths we see… Hmmm…

  6. Magnificent! What a beautiful colors❤

  7. (sigh) Yeah right Zorgor. It’s a dead blog dude.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

