Yet more small paintings


Here are the fifth and sixth “small paintings on paper that don’t matter”, that I did two weeks ago.  In this one I was exploring mark making, division of space, and placing yellow and red next to black for contrast.

Small painting #5, "Take a look behind the rhetoric", acrylic on 8.5" x 5.5" paper, February 4, 2012

These paintings need names, so borrowing an idea from sbmacinnis and the book meme I’m sure you’ve all seen, I grabbed a book offa da shelf, flipped to page 42 (because that’s the answer to the ultimate question), and found something cool on the page.  “Take a look behind the rhetoric”!  – Noam Chomsky, from Bill Moyers’ A World of Ideas.

Vertical spacer invisible gif


I’m not sure what to say about this one.  I was no longer thinking verbally, I was just painting.  🙂  Throwing the dart, this shall be called… “We have covered considerable distances”!  – Patrick Moore, Travellers in Space and Time.

Small painting #6, "We have covered considerable distances", acrylic on 8.5" x 5.5" paper, February 5, 2012

Wheee!  Naming paintings made easy!!  😀

Vertical spacer invisible gif

12 Comments

Filed under Paintings

12 responses to “Yet more small paintings

  1. I like the way you display statistics in sidebar about your paintings! Well, I will have to say Experiment failed: 1. idea phase :1. (actually your idea which I plan to convert into completed statistic!)

    • Heh! First comment I’ve gotten on that, the most self-indulgent part of the whole blog! 🙂 Thank you! I just wanted to keep track…

      Aw, sorry to hear that. But you’ll probably get a few more, I think everyone does. There’s always gesso — excellent for failed experiments. It took me the longest time to find out what gesso is — it’s canvas primer, useful for painting over a ‘failed experiment’ to paint on it again.

      And actually it’s not my idea, it’s patternsthatconnect’s idea. I just thought it was cool. I have a third container in progress…

  2. “that don’t matter”? tsk tsk…. think again

    • Ultimately nothing does matter. That’s not fatalistic, just reality. But this, here is not so existential as that. 🙂 That they ‘don’t matter’ is just a liberating idea. If they come out nice, great, another painting for the blog and the gallery. And so far they all have. 🙂 But if they end up looking like crap (and “Longing for tools still unimagined” came close), well, it’s just a piece of paper and doesn’t matter. See? I won’t mind just trashing it. It’s not even a canvas that I’d want to gesso. They don’t matter just because they’re on paper. I mean, it’s not even acid-free. It’s pulp, it’s an old note pad. This is a liberating exercise for teaching myself to paint as fluidly and loosely as you do. 🙂

      • that makes sense. i often get frustrated when working on bigger canvases with a more “refined” style and defined subject because it is more restrictive and stressful. The less it matters, the less inhibition, the more evocative art…good point Zorgor! And I thank you for your compliment. i really liked these paintings of yours, by the way… [get your tissues out, cue the violins]…those tiny lil’ paintings mattered to me, sob sob

  3. Now that is a brilliant way to name your paintings, Zorgor. 🙂 I may have to keep that method in mind. That first painting? I love it! The bold lines with those delicate little curls of colors…just beautiful!

    The second one somehow makes me think of a Native American design. Maybe it’s the colors you chose, or maybe it’s the patterns. Either way, it works out nicely. Well done!

    • Thank you so much! 🙂 Sure feel free to use that; not my idea much at all really. Another thing I like about it that I realized once I started using it is that this allows me to use the best words of excellent writers and poets for titles. I can continue focusing my creativity on paint instead of teh wordz.

      Glad you like the paint! Native American design — yeah, I can kind of see that, but can’t put my finger on it either… Do some parts of it seem to suggest the texture of animal skins?

      • I can see some animal skins in this painting. Perhaps it has a sort of war paint look to it, too. I’m not sure what it is. Either way, it works! 🙂

        Guess what? I am giving you the Kreativ Blogger Award. You can see it here, http://thecozyred.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/kreative-blogger-award/

        You deserve it. Keep on painting and posting!

        • Thank you so much! 🙂

          I’m surprised to have painted something that keeps showing me new things the closer I look at it. Why should it do that to me? I painted it after all. You’d think I’d have noticed all the details when I painted them, but I guess not… Weird. In a good way! 🙂

          Ok, I think I’ll paint some today!

  4. these are great zorgor!!! keep ’em coming!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

