A little more progress

Now it looks like this!

Did I mention this is a square canvas? Of course I already know I forgot to mention that — you see right through me. I bought some square canvases to see how that might change how I paint, and then as soon as I actually wanted to spread out in more of a landscape direction I realized I’d used my last 11″ x 14″ canvas on this one:

Once again silver and gold do not work out the way I’d hoped. At least I’m well on the way to another screwed up canvas! πŸ™‚

Frequent readers of this blog will know that screwing up a canvas is a good thing.Β  I find knowing there is nowhere to go but up very liberating and freeing.Β  I’ve even considered screwing them up on purpose.Β  I didn’t quite do that with this one, but it also did not bother me when the washes on this one did not do what I expected.Β  πŸ™‚

11 Comments

Filed under Unfinished Paintings

11 responses to “A little more progress

  1. The giant septopuses have made their grand entrance!!! This is very exciting… It’s like story telling in chapters! I like how the second one is progressing too [regardless of what you say!]!
    πŸ™‚

    • Ha ha! Yeah! Septopuses! πŸ™‚ I’m glad you like them, and the in-progress posts. πŸ™‚

      With the second one, those diagonals are due to wax resists. Well, more or less…

  2. Jim

    “Screwed up canvas” is a metaphor for a liberating and freeing life.

  3. Dani

    Rather than septopuses, my first thought was of spider tadpoles unaware of the smiling blue mass in the lower left corner eagerly awaiting dinner. Nom, nom…

    • Spider tadpoles sure, but there isn’t going to be any eating in this painting! Fwiw, the blue mass is in the foreground and the spider tadpoles are in the background… πŸ™‚ Far enough away to be safe from the happy mountain.

  4. Love that blue and violet painting in the works. Not sure what’s floating there, but it somehow reminds me of the movie “Avatar”. Your painting is so interesting…it’s something between space and aquatic. Looking forward to the finish of this one, and the silver and gold one too. πŸ™‚

    • “something between space and aquatic” fits very well, especially considering what I’ve painted since that you haven’t seen yet. Yeah, I can see “avatar”. πŸ™‚ Or “Pocahontas in space” as I like to call it.

      Heh, I’m looking forward to finishing them too! Or any of these!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)