Painting: Rorschach 13, Alien

Rorschach 13, Alien, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 12, 2012

Rorschach 13, Alien, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 12, 2012

Rorschach 13, Alien, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 12, 2012

Rorschach 13, Alien, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 12, 2012

Rorschach 13, before

The better understanding I now have of chance vs. control and skill in art, freed something up in my brain that then let me put paint on both sides.  Then I tried to assert control again by going for an overlapping rings motif.  But chance of course would not be controlled (silly painter man) and what I got looks to me like an alien face with some kind of compound eyes.  Or a couple of skulls with green moustachios and headbands…

The red and blue did very interesting things when they hit each other on the sides though I think.

It’s funny how we tend to see similar things in each of these.  These often look like bizarre or alien faces, or bizarre or alien creatures to me.  Several of you wonderful people (because you read this prattle and look at this nonsense, and even seem to like it sometimes!) tend along other lines with what these put you in mind of, but you do tend along lines.  It makes me think I see what Herr Rorschach was on to when he invented his test, though I think I also see it’s of limited utility.  I think the things we see over and over simply reveal the kinds of things we think about a lot.  The therapeutic usefulness of that then is not I think some kind of standardized psychological evaluation (which is what I always thought), though the test is standardized, but rather to get talking someone who does not want to talk about why they’re seeing a therapist…  To work around the stigma of being in therapy and give the psychologist something to work with, areas to probe further, with the complete stranger sitting in front of them that they’re supposed to somehow help…

If I’m right then, seeing sex in the Rorschach cards is the most normal response imaginable…  It’s probably something that it’s ridiculously silly to be embarrassed about revealing.

But I’m no psychologist, I’m just a dude who likes to paint and think too much.  🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Paintings

6 responses to “Painting: Rorschach 13, Alien

  1. Oh, my! Two potato heads have just seen something that made their eyes pop out!! I wonder what that was! 🙂
    Thank goodness you’re a painter and not a psychologist!
    Who knows what you’d think of my interpretations!
    🙂
    BTW I like!

    • Thanks. I”m not sure I see the resemblance really, but that could be because I’m too close to my own work. But I like that, it’s pretty cool, so thanks! 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

