Painting: Rorschach 12, Garish

Rorschach 12, Garish, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 6, 2012

Rorschach 12, Garish, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 6, 2012

Rorschach 12, Garish, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 6, 2012

Rorschach 12, Garish, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 6, 2012

Rorschach 12, before

Sometimes when you realize something, you also realize how obvious it is, wonder why you didn’t put it together sooner, and shout “Finally!”

Chance in art is the opposite of skill and control.  Polar opposites!  Finally!!

I control the backgrounds, and I control the placement of the paint blobs, but after that it’s all chance!  Or more precisely, I cannot yet predict how the way I press on it when it’s folded will effect how the paint spreads and where it goes.  Not sure I ever will, but it feels like something that can be learned.

And that is just how these work.  Finally!!

It feels good to finally have an understanding of what it is I’m doing with these.  In spite of how icky this one came out!

18 Comments

Filed under Paintings

18 responses to “Painting: Rorschach 12, Garish

  1. Oh, my! Do I see a human face in the second one? One with a green biiiiiig moustache?!!!! First one… ok it’s xmas again with two santas on top and two men fighting [bottom]! I could go on and on and on…

    • Wow, yes, all that. Amazing. Feel free to go on if you want! 🙂 Santas presiding over a prison fight. I need to remember to take a good, long look at these myself before I post them…

  2. It looks to me like a dog or a bear.

  3. It is an informative combination “chance” and “skill”. Each provides a means to establishing craft and mystery. It is exciting indeed. I like your work Zorgor. Bold and creative.

    • Heavy on chance, light on skill with these. But yes they are mysterious and fascinating, in the same way I think Rorschach intended when he came up with his test — fascinating in how anyone interprets them and what they see. And that’s the mystery. In a way I think those of you who interpret and comment do most of the real art here.

      Marcel Duchamp said, “The creative act is not performed by the artist alone; the spectator brings the work in contact with the external world by deciphering and interpreting its inner qualifications and thus adds his contribution to the creative act.”

      Thanks for you kind compliments. 🙂

  4. Dani

    Heh! I also saw Santa in the first one only I thought maybe he had a bit too much egg nog and was wearing evergreen garland.

  5. Replicant Core

    I don’t see Santa, perhaps lack of eggnog 🙂 lol
    But definitely human or dogface or …

    • On the first image, the red spots are the Santa’s hats, and the white below that are the beards. I still cannot see a dog…

      Would eggnog help with these? Hmm, it might! 🙂

  6. This one’s giving me those Chinese lantern vibes again…

  7. The first two shots scream dog to me. A big, slobbery, Saint Bernard dog’s face with droopy eyes and big, droopy lips. Yes, no doubt!

    By the way – I don’t see any ickiness here. 🙂 Great work!

    • Thanks! You’re too kind. I just thought the color choices were… regrettable. The looked fine before the fold though… Oh well.

      Yeah, definitely a bog, slobbery dog!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

