Painting: Rorschach 11, Festive

Rorschach 11, Festive, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 6, 2012

Rorschach 11, Festive, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 6, 2012

Rorschach 11, Festive, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 6, 2012

Rorschach 11, Festive, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, August 6, 2012

Rorschach 11, before

Before I folded this one I literally said to myself, “this could really suck”.  Then I opened it up and it really didn’t!

The thing I like most about these ‘rorschachs’ is the strong element of chance to them.  Chance in artwork — one of the Dada’s best ideas imo.  I squirt the paint on and try to do some kind of composing, but I really have no idea at all what it’s going to look like when I open it up.  This one looks nothing like I intended when I was laying the paint down.  I was thinking “more like a structure, architectural, than like a face or smashed bug”, but is that what I got?  Heck no!  🙂  As always with these, I got a surprise.  And I thought it looked festive.  Even the dots I added did not fall as I intended.  I don’t have as much control dripping them out of the bottle as I thought I would.  But by then I just went with it and didn’t fret too much when the paint ridges some of them hit distorted them from the dots I hoped for.

The thing I dislike about these is that they take almost zero in the way of skill.  They’re so easy I really don’t feel like I’ve done anything at all special.  But that’s just more ‘artist psychological’ nonsense — I know that much.  It’s just meaningless chatter, just a flapping door.  None of this means anything anyway.  Few things in life really do, and this is not one of them.  🙂

14 Comments

Filed under Paintings

14 responses to “Painting: Rorschach 11, Festive

  1. This just made me happy and smile!
    …and that certainly means something!!!!!
    I liked the vertical ones more. The first one [dots up] gave me a feeling of snow, or confetti falling, the second one [dots down] gave me the impression of growing. Go figure with those brain of ours!

    • Yes, that is worth something! 🙂
      Yes now that you mention it, I can see all that — snow/confetti, and growth. Yeah, it’s interesting what the mind sees and does not see until it gets a suggestion…

  2. Dani

    With the festive colors and vertical dots, it speaks “Mardi Gras” to me.

  3. Festive indeed, Zorgor. I like the colors. Even if this didn’t turn out as you first hoped, it looks great to me. I like the little paint dots…you know how I love artwork made of dots. 🙂 Well done!

    • Ha! Yeah, you and dots! 🙂 I guess the post I wrote here is also me making some peace with/understanding that chance and skill/control are really polar opposites. When I’m working with chance, I just have to let it be whatever it’s going to be. 🙂 There may not even be a point in planning or trying to compose anything with these.

  4. the third one is like a bunch of people at a concert with their arms in the air swaying back and forth to one of those earthy / peacey michael jackson songs

    • Heh! He did ‘earthy/peacey’ songs? Wait, were the things he was doing called songs? 🙂

      Eh, I just think it was all downhill with him since Thriller. Maybe since abc/123…

  5. Fourth is my favourite. I think the second one looks a bit like a sad clown.

  6. it is really festive..i mean even with the black in it, it still looks so vibrant loved how you used the yellow paper…extra effort but that much more oomph…and keep that flapping door open…no doubt what you do requires talent…just see how you make our imaginations soar =)

    • Thank you so much for that! 🙂
      Colors need darkness to really pop out and look colorful. No light without dark ya know. Can’t appreciate the good in life without the bad to put it in perspective. We live in a dualistic world of opposites.
      And if that looks like yellow paper, then I think I must have done a good job of painting it yellow! 🙂

  7. A lot a festive joy in the color composition. A real treat to immerse oneslf in. And speaking of chance again, I often have one digital layer or image in mind and take a chance with the selection of the second layered image. From there the layering effect always takes me to unexpected places. Repeatedly and in doing so it become a known process. And chance is dictated by the element of control.

    • Thanks! I think I’m going to use the same colors again on one of these at some point and see what happens.

      “Dictated” may be too strong of a word imo, but I do see what you’re saying. We do choose to allow chance, or not, in artwork… Even if it happens unexpectedly, we still choose to keep it or not.

      Thanks for looking around! 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

