Painting: Windswept

Windswept, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ canvas, July 22, 2012

Instead of resisting one of my abstracts becoming a landscape, or of deciding to just go with it if that happens, this time I decided ‘What the heck!  I’ll just paint a landscape.’  Here it is:  Windswept.

I started with some palette knifed rocks, that became mountains as they expanded up the canvas.  Mostly black, a little white, a little brown, a little green.  The sky is a palette knife blend of blues and white.  Then I added the sun, which yes I know looks a lot like the moon…  Had some trouble with that.  I mean, the sun looks overwhelmingly, blindingly white with just a yellowish fringe when I stare at it…

Last, I’d say I added a few “happy little trees”, but those trees aren’t really all that happy.

8 Comments

Filed under Paintings

8 responses to “Painting: Windswept

  1. Windswept is a beautiful Zorgor landscape! The sky is incredible, mountains too, the sun IS sun and love your little HAPPY flagtrees!

  2. I really like this painting. Strangely enough it fits the mood I am in (a little sad). Or am I projecting that feeling on to the painting. I keep seeing Van Gogh’s Starry Night in this painting. The trees feel like the crows. Sigh. Nice work Z.

    • Thank you so much! Being compared to Van Gogh… even in the least of ways, I cannot imagine higher praise for a painter. I think I might blush.

      I agree that we should always try to be aware of when we may be projecting, but in this case maybe you’re not. It is a very stark and rugged landscape. Unless you consider the abundance of oxygen, you could even call it inhospitable. You probably could anyway.

      Thanks again and I’m glad you like it! I should probably just go with what “my brush wants to do” (there’s some projection!) and paint more landscapes…

  3. Dani

    I, too, see Van Gogh’s Starry Night.

  4. Replicant Core

    Great art as always.
    Wish you a creative weekend.
    / tg aka Replicant Core

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

