Painting: Blues

Blues, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ canvas, July 20, 2012

Blues, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ canvas, July 20, 2012

Blues, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ canvas, July 20, 2012

Blues, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ canvas, July 20, 2012

So I was thinking yesterday, “I really need a good light blue.  I should go buy one.”  I usually paint ‘straight out of the tube’ as they say, a concession on my part that the likes of Liquitex and Golden are much better at mixing colors than I am.  But then I thought, “wait a minute — I already have 6 tubes of different shades of blue, why should I go buy another one that I probably won’t even open for weeks?  Besides, I really should learn to mix paints better.”  This painting is an experiment in paint mixing.

I squeezed out onto the palette equal amounts of “Florescent” blue, Manganese blue (yummy!),  “Brilliant” blue, Cerulean Blue (meh), and Cobalt blue.  For those counting, my ultramarine is pretty dried out.   Then next to each of those, I put a small dab of Titanium white and got mixing!  Then I painted this all blue painting in one sitting.

I like how it came out, though some mixes were better than others.  What looks like purple is actually the Cobalt blue, lightened with white.  That and the Manganese (the largest area) are my favorite shades here.  The ‘brilliant’ blue just really isn’t so much, neither is the ‘fluorescent’, and I’ve always found cerulean disappointing.  I let the excess of these dry on the palette.  Didn’t even try to save them.  There was no excess of the manganese and cobalt!  Overall I think this turned out well!  🙂

So….  I really need a good light blue.  I should go buy one.

10 Comments

Filed under Paintings

10 responses to “Painting: Blues

  1. Beautiful blues!!!!! Little blue windows…

  2. I like this. Nice use of many blues. Learning to mix paint better is on my do-to list too. It’s not quite as simple as I’d like to think. However, with some practice, things are starting to make more sense.

    I had to smile about your distaste for Cerulean. I rather like Cerulean. 🙂 To each their own. Interesting how, when brightened with white, the Cobalt is so violet. An interesting study. I can imagine you doing this with various hues of the other primary colors. Great job!

    • Yes, I think I am going to do that. This seems like a good way to explore paint mixing. Much less frustrating than trying to get a specific color for a purpose anyway.

      Yes the Cobalt -> violet was really a surprise!

      Thanks!

  3. I SIMPLY ADORE BLUE….all shades except for maybe cyan or turquoise with more green than i care for…a bit too much medical…hence my opinion may be very deeply biased when I say I really LOVE this…it’s so calming…I want a bedspread just like this! Or even curtains…heck why not wall paper for a feature wall…someday…someday..thanks for the silly contented smile plastered on my face right now and probably the rest of the day. =D

    • Wow! Thank you so much for such kind comments! 🙂 Blue is my favorite color too. I figured you liked blue from your icon. 🙂

      Again, thank you so much! Glad you like this!

  4. Simply…this is nice. 🙂

  5. It’s nice.
    The third orientation is my favourite.
    And blue is my favourite ever colour.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

