Painting: Rain of Life, or “The 16×20”

Rain of Life, acrylic on 16″ x 20″ canvas, July 9, 2012

Rain of Life, acrylic on 16″ x 20″ canvas, July 9, 2012

Rain of Life, acrylic on 16″ x 20″ canvas, July 9, 2012

Rain of Life, acrylic on 16″ x 20″ canvas, July 9, 2012

Well here it is, just recently named “Rain of Life”.  But I’ve been referring it as “the 16×20” for quite a while now.  I’ve been working on this since sometime before April, but it seems longer than that.  I had parts of it masked for so long I forgot what it looked like.  I was surprised when I recently took the masking off — it was brighter than I remembered.  It looked like this at the point I got stuck:

Rain of Life, at an earlier stage

I pulled out all the stops on this one, using washes, regular brush work, painting over  a lot of that, masking, painting, more masking, and palette knives.  Finally I removed the masking and finished it with the long drips of liquid color to enhance the diagonal established by the masking.  Hmm, I guess I didn’t use string and dots — maybe it’s not done yet!  🙂  (yes it is)

So there you have it.  I like the way it turned out, even though I spent a long time thinking it really wasn’t going to look any good when it was done.  That’s kind of a relief!

6 Comments

Filed under Paintings

6 responses to “Painting: Rain of Life, or “The 16×20”

  1. It’s funny how art turns out after you leave it for a while. it kind of finishes off itself! It’s …ALIIIIIVE [enter a theremin sound!!!] Seriously though, this is really good! I love the “rain” effect!

    • It is funny, but I wouldn’t say this finished itself. It took so long because I ran out of ideas. 🙂 Even when I pulled off all the masking it took a while to think of how to finish it.

      It did spring to life somehow when I added the drips. Lol — I need a theremin. 🙂

      Thank you!

  2. Powerful piece, Zorgor! It has a very strong feel to it with those black and white diagonal streaks. They almost look like they’ve been torn to the surface through all the color. Very cool! I like this one a lot.

    • Thank you! The diagonals did help a lot.

      I guess my thought of working, reworking, reworking, reworking, and reworking some more to get layers and layers of visual complexity worked. 🙂 Took forever though. and I got lost in the middle.

  3. I like this one. I’m glad to see that you kept pushing it.

    As my painting teacher said in college “Push it until it’s not really what you wanted anymore. Push until it’s just awful. Then push it some more. Then you’ll likely have a good painting.”

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

