An abstract painter from birth

Well ok, maybe not birth, but certainly since I was a ‘tween’.  We didn’t even have the word ‘tween’ back then.  But those were the days I was into Dungeons and Dragons, and after I rode my deinonychus home from school, I liked to paint lead miniatures of trolls,  unicorns, dragons, hydras, and chimeras.  This, is the plywood board I painted them on — so as to avoid painting the card table that my mom had so carefully contact papered in ochre, umber, and burnt orange some years before.

One day I painted the board.  I probably didn’t have any more miniatures to paint and insufficient allowance left to buy more, or maybe the “D&D store” only had the really lame ones left.  I had not yet ever heard the term “abstract painting”, or likely the word ‘abstract’ in any context, but that’s what I painted:

“Abstract Prime”, 11.25″ x 17.25″ plywood, 1982? 1981?

And of course now thirtyish years later, I’m going to flip it around into orientations I do not believe it has ever seen:

“Abstract Prime”, 11.25″ x 17.25″ plywood, 1982? 1981?

“Abstract Prime”, 11.25″ x 17.25″ plywood, 1982? 1981?

“Abstract Prime”, 11.25″ x 17.25″ plywood, 1982? 1981?

14 Comments

Filed under Paintings

14 responses to “An abstract painter from birth

  1. …and what does “abstract painting” mean anyway? When we think, do we think in words or is it shjkfjrufiopppofgrrr? Is painting, why label it?! So I’d alter your title [with your permission of course!] to Painter from birth and second that!

    • Sometimes I try to paint shjkfjrufiopppofgrrr. 🙂 Often actually. You do make an excellent point though, labels can get silly quickly. I tend to rant in the other direction about the term “abstract” when applied to art. “Abstract” seems to be used just to mean “not realistic” these days. Much of ‘abstract’ art is not really abstraction. When the term was coined, the likes of Kandinsky and Picasso were taking real scenes and objects and abstracting them, often portraying some real aspect of them that we do not usually notice, via exaggeration, distortion, etc. Your work is true abstraction imo. Mine usually is not. That’s why I like the term “non-representational art”. It’s not supposed to be, or represent, anything other than what it is — an arrangement of paint on a canvas, or a shjkfjrufiopppofgrrr. Hopefully one that looks good! 🙂

      I do also agree with what you’re saying though — it would be nice if we didn’t get so caught up in terminology and defining dubious distinctions.

  2. very impressive, I like the balance of black and white in this.

  3. Oh wow! I really like this one. The combination of the bold, crisp acrylics with the texture of the board. I also like this one from pretty much any orientation, too.

    • 12 year old me thanks you. 12 year old me just painted what was in front of him… Today me is actually impressed with 12 year old me, but doesn’t really feel like that kid is still “me”… 🙂 Not sure how I pulled this off then… The board was just in front of me and the colors were probably just what were in the set, so I can’t take credit for the texture and bold colors really, but 12 year old me did somehow, undeniably compose this wavy, interlocking pattern…

      So being kind of baffled at how I did this then, I feel kind of funny saying ‘thanks’ and taking credit, but anyway, thanks!

  4. Zorgor, your love for art and abstract does go back a long way. I really like this. You have had the knack for a long time, haven’t you? Well done!

    • Thanks! And apparently I have? I guess? I mean I’m surprised by this myself. For me, realizing I did this that long ago… before really knowing anything about anything… is kind of mind-blowing.

  5. Reblogged this on Thomas Schwartz Posts and commented:
    Nice post!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

