My Daughter’s Rorschach

Happy Gorilla, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, June 9, 2012

Sheep Face, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, June 9, 2012

Happy Gorilla, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, June 9, 2012

Sheep Face, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, June 9, 2012

My daughter wanted to do one of the rorschach paintings like I’ve been doing.  So she did.  🙂  She painted the background, she squirted and spread the paints, she folded the paper and did the smoosh.  She unfolded it and reworked it a few times.  She interpreted and named it “Sheep Face/Happy Gorilla”.  All I did was advise on technique and the likely outcomes of pressing harder or softer.

I like the “Happy Gorilla” orientation more myself.  🙂

16 Comments

Filed under Paintings

16 responses to “My Daughter’s Rorschach

  1. Like father like daughter! Talented!

  2. I agree with Sonali! That gorilla is VERY happy, I can see that. I’m having difficulty with the sheep face, but I will have a go later on… I’m sure it’s the time of day when a break is needed!

  3. i think i find all rorschachs to be animal faces, insects, or diagrams of the female reproductive system.

    • Yep. The natural curves the paint makes when smooshed look… natural and organic. They always look like smashed bugs to me.

      Hey — do you know who it was that said something about all art being a reflection of nature? I must not have the quote quite right because I could not google it…

  4. So nice to see your daughter following in her father’s artistic footsteps! This is wonderful! Great color choices, very nice work! I hope she continues to paint.

  5. I really enjoy looking through your blog, so I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

