Memories of Homeworld #2, Small painting 21

Memories of Homeworld #2, small painting 21, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, June 6, 2012

Memories of Homeworld #2, small painting 21, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, June 6, 2012

Memories of Homeworld #2, small painting 21, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, June 6, 2012

Memories of Homeworld #2, small painting 21, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, June 6, 2012

So I had all this yummy orange left over from Departure… what to do with it?  I grabbed a canvasboard and just started painting.  Then I painted some more.  Then I filled in the rest.  With the two long rectangles, textures, and marks.  The next thing I knew, I had painted another ‘Memories of Homeworld‘…

This is an interesting way of painting — putting down something, anything, then another thing, maybe a third and then just filling in the rest.  It stays spontaneous all the way through, and avoids the long boring part a painting like Departure, or especially Deployment, has in the middle.  Paintings like that are very interesting when I’m doing the initial sketch, and interesting at the end when I’m adding details and final touches, but wow can they get boring in the middle when I’m just painting large areas of color and maybe adding additional coats and waiting for them to dry.  After I’d painted this, I realized I had painted Memories of Homeworld mostly the same way.  A few days later I painted another painting this way and finished it very quickly.  It was fun all the way through!

5 Comments

Filed under Paintings

5 responses to “Memories of Homeworld #2, Small painting 21

  1. Lovely memories, Charlie! I can see a red bird, a blue/green turtle, some bird footsteps, a couple of green fish [I wonder what they’re doing out of water], some charcoal leftovers from yesterdays bbq, a little pond [that’s where the fish are going!], a small army of ants [err, that maybe because I have a little ant issue at home, I see them EVERYWHERE!] and …a crown! I bet you, if a psychiatrist reads it, he’ll send the white mantle asap!

  2. Dani

    I see a little orange guy jumping with joy amongst the stars!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

