Departure, Small painting 20

Departure, small painting 20, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, June 1, 2012

Departure, small painting 20, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, June 1, 2012

Departure, small painting 20, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, June 1, 2012

Departure, small painting 20, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, June 1, 2012

Words words words.  Need some words I guess.

I wanted to paint more of a three-dimensional abstract… with three-dimensional abstract shapes.  Most of what I’ve been doing lately has tended to be flat.   So I did.

So, “Departure”.  They’re not exactly spaceships…  They’re too colorful for that.  They’re artships, a caravan of them filled with artists, heading out to found a whole new galaxy of art…

Because somewhere deep down I feel like that would help; like that’s something we need more of…   Hmmm.  So many people are taught to think they “can’t draw”.  It’s sad really.  So many in our culture are set up to suffer from the illusion that they simply have no creativity to express…  It’s such a sad, sad lie.  Many never find their creative outlet because they’ve been convinced they just have no need of one.

Yeah, so anyway, I didn’t realize this painting was so deep for me!  🙂  Wow.

The artists in the artships are all the people who think they can’t draw.

5 Comments

Filed under Paintings

5 responses to “Departure, Small painting 20

  1. […from a person who CAN draw, however!] I really like your interpretation of artships! We are so happy to travel inside them!

  2. How interesting about what this painting represents to you. When I first saw it, I must admit, the thing that popped into my head was broken pencil leads. Odd, I know.

    Great work! I agree with you 100% about the sad mentality that only a gifted few can make art. Art is whatever you make it to be, and whatever you do, whether it’s finished, drawn-out oil paintings, or quick, feel good doodles, art is art. There’s not right or wrong way about it.

    Great work on this!

    • How interesting to me not to realize how much it represents to me until I was actually writing the post. But yes, I can see broken pencil leads. 🙂 Thanks!

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

