Me, with the mental block

  • I have realized and decided that these non-representational abstracts really have no ‘top’ or ‘bottom’, no ‘up’ or ‘down’.
  • I have blogged about this a few times.
  • I have been meaning to show them from more angles.

I just keep forgetting to do it!

Fried eggs and thumbtacks, inverted, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, May 26, 2012

Fried eggs and thumbtacks, rotated, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, May 26, 2012

Fried eggs and thumbtacks, rotated, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, May 26, 2012

Fried eggs and Thumbtacks, acrylic on 8″ x 10″ canvasboard, May 26, 2012

10 Comments

Filed under Paintings

10 responses to “Me, with the mental block

  1. The block is gone…love this concept

  2. like it! I think abstracts dont need to have up and down or sides!

  3. errr…….still a crown!!!!

  4. It is not always true. Try putting a Jack Bush anyway up. I was looking at a Terry Frost painting only the other day that only looks ‘right’ the right way up. I like in my own work that most of the time it doesn’t matter which way up it goes and I can see that you are enjoying this for yourself too. Try it with all your paintings and I bet you find some that will resist, especially when not square. I would suggest that even the one shown here is quite diffrent in landscape than in portrait.

    • Yes, not always true. I’m not familiar enough with those artists to comment, but this painting here resists! 🙂 I had it hanging upside down for a few weeks, but later decided I just really do like it more with the last orientation shown on this post.

      I thought this was just conditioning, just getting used to seeing it one way. Maybe it is, or maybe there is something more going on with this ‘phenomenon’…

      On the other side of the coin, for some reason my latest https://zorgor.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/painting-new-realm/ seems to work fairly well from all four sides… But yes, this one doesn’t.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

