Painting: Rorschach 6

Rorschach 6, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, May 12, 2012

Here’s “Rorschach 6”.  Highlight in the box below to see what it looks like to me:

To me this looks like an aqua-green human-like figure flying over a landscape, so I named this “Flying over the landscape”.

Here it is upside down:

Rorschach 6, inverted, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, May 12, 2012

More “invisible ink” made with 100% digital potatoes!

The same aqua-green human-like figure flying back the other way, or a Baboon face. I suppose these tend to look like all sorts of extra-colorful faces… Our brains are wired to see faces. All it takes is 3 roughly regularly spaced dots, vaguely in an inverted triangle to see a “face”.

Here’s how it looked before I folded the paint on.  I tried mixing the colors a little first which worked really well with the blue and white!

Rorschach 6, “before”, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, May 12, 2012

I found a good use for the gold paint that’s usually been disappointingly too thick to work with.  It left huge peaks that were stiff enough to dry that way.  Shoulder-high to Abe Lincoln:

Rorschach 6, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, May 12, 2012

What do you see in this one?

17 Comments

Filed under Paintings

17 responses to “Painting: Rorschach 6

  1. I think I can see my brain working trying to figure this out! So now I see: a company of bears [grizzlies!] and ducks, all hanging out in a friendly circle round a small lake, making wishes by throwing coins [later on!] Excellent!

  2. I’m glad I am not the only one who flips the canvas. I like the sculpting effect in this. It reminds me of our vascular system…

    • Thank you! 🙂 Yes, lots of veins that just form by pulling the heavy body paint apart. I like an element of chance in art — and these really have a lot of that!

      You should see me paint then. I flip the canvas all around as I work, resting it on any side or corner and at any angle that lets me get the brush exactly where I want it. Especially with flat brushes. A time lapse of me painting would probably show the canvas just spinning… Given that, I find it strange that I forget that non-representational abstracts really have no “up” or “down”, and that I really should consider the finished paintings from more angles myself… 🙂

  3. I don’t know what i see..i first thought Goliath’s head then Cyclops for the eye space in the middle…but more than that I love the colours you’ve used..especially the teal (?)

    • Thank you — I’m all about colors! 🙂 Yeah, I don’t know if you read the ‘invisible ink’ but I read somewhere that, as social primates, our brains are wired to see faces. I went on about that, writing only for the most curious, “I suppose these tend to look like all sorts of extra-colorful faces… Our brains are wired to see faces. All it takes is 3 roughly regularly spaced dots, vaguely in an inverted triangle to see a “face”.”

      So definitely Goliath and/or a cyclops. There are a couple of things there that could be a single, baleful eye.

      • No I haven’t read “invisible ink” but that is thoroughly fascinating!! What is the title of the post where you wrote about this then? Look forward to reading it 🙂 (i tried searching for “invisible ink” on your blog and got several links)

        • Oh, it’s this post. Click and drag with your mouse to highlight inside the empty white boxes above, but it’s basically what I quoted myself saying in the previous comment. 🙂

          I guess what I’m doing with the boxes above, after the picture of each painting, is kind of confusing. That is just white text on the white background, making it “invisible” until you click and drag over it with your mouse. I’m doing this crazy stuff because I don’t want to influence what you see by first telling you what I see… But still let you know what I think they look like, in case you want to know… Sorry for being so cryptic… I haven’t figured out a better way of not telling you and also telling you… 🙂

  4. Teddy bear with hand stretched that is what first one looks like to me!! But all are very very nice and creative!

  5. You’ve been really busy with this style lately. Great work again, Zorgor! I love the things you’re doing with this style. In this one, I see the “Creature from the Black Lagoon”. Yes, the old black and white monster movie. There is a lot of resemblance in my opinion. 🙂 Keep it up, Zorgor!

  6. Dani

    I see two people holding something up. I’m not sure quite what that something is.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

