Painting: Rorschach 4

Rorschach 4, acrylic on 11″ x 14″ bristol paper, May 12, 2012

So, what is this?  Someone tell me they see a bunny.  🙂  Here is what this looked like before the smush:

Rorschach 4, May 12, 2012, seconds earlier…

This time I’ve actually taken a good look at it myself and asked myself what I see.  But I got nothin’.  Just a vague butterfly or maybe a smashed caterpillar, but not really very strongly either.  Aghast!  Whatever does this say about me?!?  🙂

My daughter just pointed out it looks like a horse face, or a Chinese dragon face!

So I’ll ask you — what is this?

Update (48 hours later):   Now I’m naming this one “Chinese Dragon”.  That has become its name in my head, so that’s its name.

17 Comments

Filed under Paintings

17 responses to “Painting: Rorschach 4

  1. I shouldn’t have read your text because now I can’t get the Chinese dragon out of my face! What’s more amazing -to me anyway- is that the dragon is there even before you folded the paper! it is excellent! Lovely dragon!

  2. Jim

    It looks like Groucho Marx.

  3. Dani

    I agree with your daughter. A Chinese dragon is what first came to mind.

  4. I think it looks like a clown face on a hamburger bun. Let’s not try to analyze that one! Maybe I should have gone with Chinese Dragon.

  5. Well, I see a face. Yes, a face with a big black unibrow. 🙂 Great work, and I really love seeing the pre-smush image too.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

