Crazy Go Nuts! Small painting 15

Crazy Go Nuts!, small painting 15, acrylic on 8"x10" canvas board, April 2012

Crazy Go Nuts!  Paint drips in the background, masked the most interesting parts of that, used a temporary grid for an alignment that you can’t really see anymore, did some mixing with the palette knife, and painted with string.  Some brush work too.

My brushes have been complaining that they feel neglected.  They say I hardly use them anymore.  They say I’m using the palette knife, I’m using string, and now I’m even using test tubes!!  I hardly a brush anymore, sniff!  Worse they’ve overheard me pondering doing a painting entirely without brushes!

Well it’s true.  Those poor filberts and flat brushes…  I hope they don’t unionize on me.  The latest is that I bought these test tubes, and have been using them to paint!  They’re perfect for mixing washes, and for mixing just a little wash, that I can pour somewhat selectively on just part of a canvas.  4 ml of water, a drop or two of Golden fluid color, and a vigorous shake, and I have an intense little wash.  Not too much wash, most of which usually runs off the canvas, leaving a very pale wash when it dries.  With graduated test tubes I can control the amount and color intensity!  Woo-hoo!  Ahem, so yeah, I kinda do feel bad for the brushes… but not bad enough!!  😀

It used to look like this

8 Comments

Filed under Paintings

8 responses to “Crazy Go Nuts! Small painting 15

  1. Don’t worry, I’m sure your brushes understand! [mine often complain too, however I know that it’ll make them more obedient next time I use them!] Nice work, Charlie!

  2. sbmacinnis

    Love it great energy!

  3. i like it alot….i think i might like pre-craziness better? that looks extremely cool and spacey.

    • Thanks! 🙂 Hmm, I see what you mean. With or without the rubber bands and/or masking tape?

      You’re encouraging my minimalist inclinations. Evidence to the contrary, they are there. I think you can tell. Keep it up — I think I’m close to doing something much less complex than my usual. 🙂

  4. Your brushes complain, too? My pencils complain that I only use ink anymore. 😉

    Great painting, and those test tubes sound like such a great method of making washes. What a good idea! Nice painting, as always. You must just love colors! 🙂

    • Heh. Well I’ve been using brushes a lot today, so hopefully they’ll pipe down for a while. 🙂 Thanks! Hopefully I’ll finish the first two paintings with test tube washes this weekend. I do love colors. I’d go so far as to say I’m all about colors. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

