Jupiter, by Jove!!

Venus and Jupiter are in conjunction these days, meaning they’re about 3 to 5 degrees apart in the western sky at night.  Very easy and very cool to see them.  I’ve been seeing them up there the past several nights and last Tuesday night I thought, what the heck!  I’ll take a picture!  I figured it’d just be two dots, but I would know what they were when it popped up in my screen saver and knowing I had seen them with my own eyes would be so cool all over again.  🙂  Here’s the picture:

Jupiter on the left and Venus on the right; Conjunction of March 13, 2012

vertical spacer invisible gif

But here’s where it gets really cool.  I took three frames with tripod and auto-timer, not really sure how well they’d turn out, then packed it in and went back inside.  Looking at them on my computer I noticed some suspicious specks…  and if I had not seen the same specks in all three frames I never would have believed it, but I actually captured some of Jupiter’s moons!!

Enlargement from the photo above of Jupiter, Io, and Europa I think, March 13, 2012

vertical spacer invisible gif

According to this, I believe the speck just above the large blob (which is Jupiter) is Io, and the one above that is Europa.  This is with just my camera — not a telescope!  My camera is a Nikon Coolpix S4 — not even a DSLR with a serious lens, but what I guess you could call a ‘souped up’ snapshot camera…  I’ve never seen another camera design like it.  It has a focal length of 38-380mm, or 10x optical.  I was at max optical zoom for these shots of course.  There’s more digital zoom on top of that, but I… never go there.

I am so impressed all over again with my little 7 year old camera…  I was impressed when I bought it that I could just about fill the frame with the moon!  I mean Jupiter!!  And two of its moons!!  How cool is that?!?

12 Comments

Filed under Photography

12 responses to “Jupiter, by Jove!!

  1. Wow, that is amazing! You must have quite a good camera! How cool is this? 🙂 Any idea what the colors are? The green to the left and violet to the right?

    Nicely captured!

    • Thanks! The colors — no not really. One of the other frames came out with red and purple… Yeah, this little camera does not stop impressing me. 🙂 Would you believe I did this again? I don’t! Camera was being fussy tonight and did not want to focus, but in 1 of my 7 attempts it did. Judging by that Jupiter moon tracker I linked to above, I think I just captured Io and Ganymede! Methinks another post is in order! 🙂

  2. dsief4peace

    Very. Kewl!

  3. Galileo would be proud. 🙂

  4. sbmacinnis

    That’s really great. I didn’t know you could do this without serious gear!

    • Me either! Surprised the heck out of me! But then I have heard that Galileo’s telescope pales in comparison even to a modern pair of binoculars…

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

