“Movement had burgeoned”, small painting #10

This is probably the last of the small paintings on paper, at least for a while.  I’ve started doing the same kind of thing — but a lot more of it — on a 16″x20″ canvas.  That’ll take a while.  Lets hope I don’t lose interest!  🙂

"Movement had burgeoned", small painting #10, acrylic on 8.5" x 5.5" paper, February 24, 2012

vertical spacer invisible gif

After laying down a yellow background, I cut some hopefully interesting shapes out of masking tape and masked parts of it.  Then it was just putting down blobs of paint and letting them form “their own” shapes, blue, green, and red.  That’s the part that comes most unfiltered from the murky depths my subconscious.  Next I added some black and white dots.  Then I tried to keep going past the point where I usually would stop, past the point of feeling it was done, which was hard to do.  But I figured to get the level of complexity I want, I have to just keep painting.  It was surprising that this was difficult.  When it feels done, there also comes the feeling that even a single thing more will mess it up, that any more would be too much.  Anyway, that’s the white hash marks and the small red squiggles.  This is when it hit me that I needed a bigger canvas to really do more — enter the 16″x20″.  But I think it turned out well, and as I write this I learn that my daughter does too, so there you have it!

So tell me, what is this chaos of colors?  🙂

12 Comments

Filed under Paintings

12 responses to ““Movement had burgeoned”, small painting #10

  1. sbmacinnis

    I like what you’ve done with piece. I like the right side especially, the blue and yellow seem to dance.
    I hope you’ll do more small works too, but I’m interested in seeing your 16×20.

  2. Beautiful colour, movement and energy. It’s an energetic celebration!

  3. Another great piece! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the small works, and am sure you’ll enjoy working bigger. I remember how long it took me to move from my once-standard 8×10 size up to 11×14. 11×14 felt so huge! Now, though, it’s become my go-to size. 16×20 is a nice size to explore with. 🙂

    Great colors and shapes here! Looking at this, I somehow think of colorful dinosaurs in a thick jungle. The central red area definitely looks to me like a dinosaur tipped up on its tail. 🙂 Glad your daughter likes this, too. Great work!

    • Thank you! 🙂 I’ve done most of what I’ve done on 11×14. A few on 14×18, but I guess this is the largest canvas I’ve worked on. Doesn’t really feel too big… 🙂

      Hmm, yeah, does kind of look like a dinosaur. Just goes to show I really need to view these with all four orientations, at least! I’ve been turning the containers around where I have them hanging at work…

  4. Oohhhhh, i see a lot of Matisse here (the highest of compliments, coming from me). I also think i see a lot of development as you continue down this “uninhibited” path with your small paintings. I say keep going, because you have yet to arrive at your final artistic destination.

    • Thank you! ‘Matisse’ is absolutely a high compliment! And thank you so much! 🙂 I’m quite inspired by fauvism, among other things. Ok, maybe I should keep going — I mean I am, just with a bigger canvas. But I think I will probably paint more smaller ones before that one is done, but I gots to get away from curly paper!

  5. TLS

    Loooove this. So colourful and fun!
    You know it reminds me so much of those nudibranchs you blogged about recently!! I think they must have had a subconscious influence on you! It definitely has an underwater feel to it, like a coral reef..

    • Huh! I had not thought of the nudibranchs! Must have been subconscious because I did not see this until you mentioned it, but there the reef is! Wow, so much positive feedback — maybe I should frame this one! 🙂

      Thank you so much!! 🙂

  6. I love the riot of colours, the easy contrast between the primaries, and the use of the tape to pull strips of colour out. Pretty cool work.

    I also like that these always just become Rorschach exercises for me. I see a hand in the red! A whale swallowing a thingy! A spider with two sets of eight legs!

    • Thanks! That’s why I like so much hearing what people see in these. 🙂 Apparently I’m too close to them, or have no demons lurking deep in my subconscious (yeah right), so I don’t see a lot of these things myself. But someone mentions a ‘giant red hand’ and there it is! Where is the whale though? Is the spider the blue on the lower right?

      I hope I wasn’t too out of line with what I elaborated about “hits from the bong of nationalism” on your blog yesterday… I try hard not to do that sort of thing, but apparently last night it just had to come out…

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

