Painting: Fairy


It’s done!  And in time for Christmas too, whew!  This is the fairy painting I made as a Christmas gift for my daughter.  She glides just above the grass, a being of light, trailing magnetic fields of fairy magic behind.

Fairy, a Christmas gift for my daughter, acrylic on 11" x 14" canvas

Fairy, a Christmas gift for my daughter, acrylic on 11" x 14" canvas

I hope I captured some of the mystery such a creature would be, if witnessed in real life.  The painting itself is done as you see here,  but I’m still working on the frame…  The foreshortened arm was the hardest of course, and getting the glow right was difficult too.  The wings also were quite tedious at times.  But, these are the things that make non-representational art easier, in it’s way.  When not trying to represent anything recognizable, you don’t get caught up in trying to make things look the way they should, because when it doesn’t represent anything physical, there is much less to how it should look.  Maybe I just stated the obvious, but that’s what this painting really brought home to me, much more than Falling did.  Being compelled to fuss over the details is the price you pay for even approaching realism I guess.

Anyway, I hope she likes it! 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Paintings

8 responses to “Painting: Fairy

  1. Jim

    This has looseness and fluidity I haven’t seen in your other works. Nicely done.

    • Huh. Thanks! Well if it has that, it’s probably due to the carefree ease of the fairy as she glides along, that I was trying to depict, because I certainly was not painting loosely and fluidly!

  2. What girl wouldn’t love a fairy! Well done! She will love it! 🙂 Happy Holidays!

  3. jcarlisle2622

    The timing of this piece is very interesting to me. A painting of “the fey” being completed just as Yule begins. I’m wondering if your muse on this particular piece was a nature spirit.

    • Probably not. It’s a Christmas gift for my daughter. She likes fairys. The math on that seems pretty straightforward to me.

      If a nature spirit had been my muse, why didn’t she suggest I put some depth and perspective into the ground *before* I finished that part? 🙂

  4. this painting is really cool charlie!
    your daughter is a lucky girl! how old?
    my wife and i just had our first one on december 17th!!
    happy new year!! yea

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

