Eight paintings in progress! Eight!!

Clearly I like starting new things more than finishing old ones!  But eight is really too many to have “in flight”.  That’s not counting the five I’ve decided are “stalled”.  It’s a gray area between “in progress” and “stalled”.  I fear some that I’m still counting as ‘in progress’ are actually stalled.  Anyway, here they are!

Yes, I am thinking the ones I’ve been working on for a while really should get done first, but with Christmas less than two weeks away #8 here has jumped to the front of the line.  Yes, it’s a fairy.  No, its not my usual choice of subject matter…   “Grunt, snort, hooah!” he said as he awkwardly broke eye contact to stare intently at the floor.

It’s a Christmas gift for my daughter.  ‘Nuff said and we need never speak of this again.  (kidding — feel free to tell me how awesome it is)   🙂

Yes, it's a fairy. It's a Christmas gift for my daughter.

Moving right along, I’ve been experimenting with modeling paste!  That’s fun with a capital PH!  So it’s modeling phaste?  Anyway, it’s in kind of a ‘St. George’s Cross’ phase now, but I’m excited to get back to this one!  Textures, baby!

Woo-hoo! Modeling paste!

I’ve also been experimenting with washes.  I mixed some paint and water and produced this:

Wash #1. A background for future abstactions!

It’s going to be background for my next free form abstraction.  Look for this to go the direction of Andlega Landslagi.  Though I like the outcome, that wasn’t really what I was looking for.  So I hit up YouTube and saw that usually artists apply water to the canvas first:

Wash #2. A background for future abstactions!

I liked this more, but also heard tell of liquid paints whilst in the land of YouTube.  So the next day I bought some:

Wash #3. A background for future abstactions!

And that is frickin’ awesome if I do say so myself.  And there is a considerable element of chance here too.  (I’ve since learned that the Dada who was first interested in chance as an artistic principle was Hans Arp, who was always my favorite Dada anyway.)  It took about 5 minutes to apply the water and color, then they each took overnight to dry.  By morning they’d all changed a lot since I last saw them the night before.  In the first and third, I used no green.  All that green is from the blue and yellow slowly mixing in the night.  I was having so much fun with this that after the third I decided I really had to stop, and paint on these first before I fill up all my blank canvases with awesome oozing colors.

Then there are the other three, which are at various points on the edge of ‘stalled’.

*Still* in progress. Just a smidge more progress shown here.

...in progress

...in progress

...in progress

...in progress

So you tell me — which of these last three should I finish first?  Comments are always welcome, and now you also get to tell me which painting you want to see me get done first!  🙂

9 Comments

Filed under Paintings

9 responses to “Eight paintings in progress! Eight!!

  1. Jim

    I’d call the first stalled one “done.” You don’t have to tell anybody if you decide later to add to it.

    • Hmmm, that’s a thought. But I can probably actually finish that one pretty quickly, as soon as I can get to it. Next week maybe. 🙂 It’s the closest to done of the three, as you noticed.

  2. You are one busy man, Zorgor! And how sweet the one for your daughter, fairy and all. 🙂 Love the textures your working with. Love, love, love textures. 🙂

    • Yeah, textures do add a lot of interest don’t they? And fairly easily too it seems.
      Yes, too busy. 🙂 But that’s better than having no ideas… A nice ‘problem’ to have.
      I hope she likes it. I was really flattered when she told me she wanted me to paint an abstract painting for her for Christmas… A definite “awwww” moment. 🙂

  3. i like the last of the 3 the best so i vote 4 u to finish that one first.

  4. Yeah… first one… totally done. It’s funny that as a photographer, I find myself wanting to crop that and shift it about 30% left. Centering it makes it feel less done to me, but even centered…. yeah, it strikes me as done.

    The third feels MOSTLY done. The blue boxes trailing behind feel like they want something but aside from that that painting is done with too. (At least to my untrained eye.)

    In general though, your divergence into other media is REALLY making me want to go buy…. something…. to make art with that has an actual physical manifestation. Perhaps it’s time for me to go back to the collages. Whatever the case, you continue to pull my artistic strings. 🙂

    • Yeah, I didn’t use the rule of thirds on that one. 🙂 But you’re right — it is almost done — real close. And the third is also /mostly/ done.

      That’s thought provoking. There is something to be said for art that is more physical, as you put it. Yet I am a bit disappointed at the detail that is lost as I strive to get them into digital form… Mostly, my camera pincushions a lot, which is annoying. It even does this to horizons when I zoom, like sunsets over the ocean. That’s the only thing I dislike about an otherwise great camera (Nikon Coolpix S4, it’s like 6 years old now or something).

      I will do my best to keep pulling your artistic strings!

  5. Pingback: Painting update! | zorgor

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

