Little progress, so I went looking for inspiration

So here is a little more progress with this one:

still 'in progress'...

still 'in progress'...

and no further progress yet with the other one.  I haven’t painted since Thursday of last week I think.  I’ve been uninspired.  So, Sunday I went to the Indianapolis Museum of Art looking for inspiration, which I found.  🙂

I spent a long time staring at Cézanne’s “House in Provence”:

House in Provence - Paul Cézanne, 1886-90

House in Provence - Paul Cézanne, 1886-90

At first I was very interested in the Van Gogh (Landscape at Saint-Rémy, 1889) hanging to the right of the Gauguin (Landscape near Arles, 1888), which was itself to the right of this Cézanne, because it was just cool to see an actual Van Gogh up close.  Not a print, not a .jpg, but the actual painting he created with his own hands.  To see the texture of his brush strokes, palette knife marks, and paint pretty much just as squeezed out of the tube.  Wow.  But, as I mentioned, it was this Cézanne that really pulled me in.  Cézanne wanted more physical structure depicted in impressionism and shows that here by pulling the landscape into angular horizontal bands, with the solid block of the farmhouse dominating the scene with such gravitas.

Check out these mountains, almost ‘sculpted’ from blocks of color:

detail of the mountains in Cézanne's 'House in Provence'

detail of the mountains in Cézanne's 'House in Provence'

I really like that texture and something like it will probably show up in one of my future abstracts!  🙂

Later I found this:

Concretion - George Lovett Kingsland Morris, 1937

Concretion - George Lovett Kingsland Morris, 1937

“Concretion”, by the extravagantly named George Lovett Kingsland Morris.  Somewhere there is someone without a middle name because he took two.  Ulysses Grant maybe.  Anyway, I looked at this and thought, ‘Wow, I could totally do that without even stretching my current painting skillz even a little bit’.  Which I guess means I’ve worked my skill level up to ‘1937 state of the art’.  Woo-hoo!  🙂  (yeah, whatever zorgor…)

Last, here is another gem I found on this day.  “She Will Move Away Some Day”, by Hollis Sigler of Gary, Indiana, painted in 1981.

She Will Move Away Someday, Hollis Sigler, 1981

She Will Move Away Someday, Hollis Sigler, 1981

And then it’ll be just him, the dog, and those psychedelic mountains with their psychedelic vapors I guess.  Still, this painting… wow.  I’m impressed and I like it and it feels like this is going to have some influence on me, but I cannot yet tell what.  It reminds me of David Hockney’s Pacific Coast Highway and Santa Monica.

So, in school they taught me I would need a conclusion at this point, and yeah, I can see that, but nonetheless I’ve pretty much just run out of words.  So there you have that.

4 Comments

Filed under Indianapolis Museum of Art, Paintings

4 responses to “Little progress, so I went looking for inspiration

  1. I loved taking this trip with you. I used to live in Washington, DC. And shit, I wish I was doing artistic work then. The free museums which such great and different art. It was food for the soul, and stuff for inspiration.

    I like these works you’ve presented. The Hollis Sigler in particular grabs my eye (maybe because I’ve not seen that before?).I just like all the movement there. And then that poor little dog. 🙂

    Great post! 🙂

    • I’m glad you liked it! IMA is a great museum. Of course it doesn’t compare to museums in D.C., NY, Chicago, etc. or other great cities of the world, but it really has a lot of great stuff for a city this size. And it is free! 🙂

      Yeah, exactly that with the Hollis Sigler. I mean, who the heck is Hollis Sigler? 🙂 I had never heard of her, and the painting is presented as ‘impressive stuff from a local artist’, making the point that she was born in Gary, Indiana. Her and Michael Jackson btw. But yeah! A *lot* of movement! And the poor little dog, and the absence of anyone else in the painting, helps the title to make the point of loneliness…

      • Cynthia Staples

        Actually, Hollis Sigler was a well-known Chicago artist who was born in Indiana. Her work was iconic and innovative, illuminating her experiences with breast cancer, and her identity as a lesbian woman. The cancer eventually took her life. Her work is to be found in many major museums. She might possibly be grouped with the post-Imagists of the 1980s, but surely her work has influenced a generation of artists.

  2. Pingback: The first time I put brush to canvas | zorgor

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

