More progress…

More progress on these two paintings:

...in progress

...in progress

Everything has its second coats now — so glad that’s done!  On to more fun stuff!  It’s hard to tell in the photo, but the three larger blocks on the bottom are a different shade of blue than the other blue rectangles.  Decided to go for a little different yellow effect in the largest block.  This one is getting close to done now!

...in progress

...in progress

More crazy, vaguely planty, stuff.  This is the kind of thing that doesn’t get close to done until I’ve pretty much run out of canvas…

Comments and interpretations are always welcome.  Both add to my creative process.  Any thoughts on these?

4 Comments

Filed under Paintings

4 responses to “More progress…

  1. I can see the different blue on the blocks, but I bet in person, it’s stunning. I love the progress on the second painting. So vibrant and energetic!

    • Thank you! 🙂 Nah, I wouldn’t say the difference between those two shades of blue is “stunning” really… I probably need to enhance the difference a bit more. But “vibrant” exactly what I’m going for with the second! 🙂

  2. Hrm. Interesting evolution here. It seems that as time goes on your work becomes more and more… well, patient? Your level of detail keeps going up and up. Your second painting reminds me strongly of a passion flower.

    • Thanks! Complexity is one of the things that really pulls me into a painting and keeps me lingering and staring at it. Like Robert Matta’s Invasion of the Night, for example: http://art110.wikispaces.com/SFMOMA_trip I’m like that guy looking at it. So yes, especially with that one, I’m going for more and more detail and complexity. 🙂

      As for patience, I’ve always thought of myself as a very patient person, but yes, painting does take time, and I probably have become more patient with it. Which of course is a good thing.

      Happy Thanksgiving! I am thankful to have you as a friend! In many ways.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

