Painting: Sleeping Late

Yeah, yeah it’s Nigel Tufnel day.  Rock on.   Here is today’s real post.  A painting I just finished, titled with a haiku.


Sleeping Late, sunlight filters through, the covers

Sleeping Late, sunlight filters through, the covers. Acrylic on 12" x 9" canvas paper.

Kind of experimental.  As the title suggests, I was sleeping late, and as blissful slumber evaporated this is more or less what I saw.  I took some artistic license with the colors.  The blue chunk on the left is the pillow, and the green on the right is my arm resting on my head.  The beige area in the middle with the designs is sunlight filtering through the covers.

What do you think?

2 Comments

Filed under Paintings

2 responses to “Painting: Sleeping Late

  1. I’d make so bold as to say that that’s your best one yet. Something about the contrast of colors and the tonal qualities of the yellow arc gives it a depth that I’ve not seen in your previous works so much. You’re traipsing into the third dimension a bit. I like it!

    • Huh. Well thanks! I suppose it does have just a smidge of depth… I hadn’t noticed. 🙂 I was just trying to make the bright colors ‘pop’ by putting them against dark colors. I’m glad you like it! Especially since this one seemed kinda ‘weird’ even to me…

I'd love to hear your thoughts and interpretations! Your comments and likes are what keep the paintings and posts coming. :)

